
   

 

PHOTO ID REQUIRED 
 
Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set 
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  Advanced First Aid Instructor 
This certification authorizes the holder to conduct required advanced first aid classes to meet the  
Requirement of §45.1-161.199. 
  
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination if examination is 

required 
§ Hold a valid First Aid Instructor certification from the American Red Cross, National Safety 

Council, Virginia Emergency Medical Services or as other wise approved by the Chief, 
Division of Mines 

§ Possess CPR Certification  (American Heart Association or American Red Cross)  
§ Submit résumé of teaching experience signed and dated 
§ Attend 8 hour Instructor Equivalency Training Course conducted by a DM certified Advanced 

First Aid Instructor 
 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  Applicants who have adequate first aid training and 
instructor experience will not be required to take an examination.  Individuals wishing to become 
certified to teach Advanced First Aid but have no valid card must complete requirements as 
determined by the Chief.  All instructors will be monitored by a DM Representative prior to 
issuance of Advanced First Aid Instructor certification and those may be asked to co-teach a 
class with a DM instructor. 
 
PRIOR TO CONDUCTING A CLASS: 
    
§ Instructors must have completed all Board of Coal Mining Examiners requirements for 

Advanced First Aid Instructor certification except “Monitoring.” 
§ Notify the Regulatory Boards Administrator in writing, at least 10 working days prior to 

class: 
§ Instructor’s name     
§ Social Security No. 
§ Projected number of students (if possible) 
§ Location, date, time of scheduled class 
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PRIOR TO COMPLETING CLASS: 
§ Provide Regulatory Boards Administrator with class roster and schedule a tentative 

examination date 
§ Have students complete application DM-BCME-1 and submit $40.00 fee (checks made 

payable to Treasurer of Virginia) 
§ Submit DM-BCME-5 Advanced First Aid Practical Stations and CPR (written and 

practical) to DM at end of class or on exam date 
§ Student attendance sheet must be submitted by instructor at the end of class or on exam 

date. This must contain student’s name, address and each date attended. 
 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 

§ American Red Cross - Emergency Response Manual 
§ Advanced First Aid Instructor’s Guide 
§ BCME Requirements (No Charge) 

 
The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field 
Office (276) 415-9650. 
 
*Applicant shall maintain certification through teaching one initial or refresher first aid training 
course for DMME within a two-year period. 
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