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PHOTO ID REQUIRED 
 

PRIOR TO SCHEDULING EXAM MUST PROVIDE LETTER OF GOOD 
STANDING FROM STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 

 
Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of 

coal mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through 
§45.1-161.41 in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of 
administering the certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 
4  VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal 
miner examinations and certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  Advanced First Aid - Reciprocity 

This certification authorizes the holder to meet standards for emergency care in the coal mining 
industry required by §45.1-161.199. 

  
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee  
§ Provide verification of valid EMT, MET, or First Responder Card 
§ 8 hour Reciprocity Class* taught by a DM certified Advanced First Aid Instructor 
§ Hold a General Miner Certification, Surface or Underground 
§ “Letter of Good Standing” from state of West Virginia 
§ No examination required 
§ Reciprocity can only be used one time to achieve certification 
 

 
*On the day of the class, an additional $7.25 fee will be collected for the American Red Cross 
for the CPR portion of the class. 

 
 

*4 hours Advanced First Aid continuing education will update this certification. 
 
NOTE: A current EMT or First Responder Card issued by Virginia Emergency Medical     

  Services (EMS) may be submitted in lieu of Advanced First Aid continuing education.  
 

 

DIVISION OF MINES 
BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 

ADVANCED FIRST AID – West Virginia Reciprocity 

http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

