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DIESEL ENGINE MECHANIC UNDERGROUND (COAL)

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety L aws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examinersis established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20,

which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Underground Diesel Engine Mechanic (Coal)
This certification authorizes the holder to:
= Perform maintenance work on diesel engines in underground coal mines as recommended
by the manufacturer of the engine.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
= Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
0 Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an
opening will be available.
=  Six months experience as an underground coal diesel engine mechanic or complete a diesel
engine mechanic course approved by the Division of Mines, or possess appropriately related
work experience approved by the Chief of the Division of Mines. (Certificate required if other
than DM course). NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing the
examination. After 5yearsrecords aredestroyed. Must reapply if future certification is
desired.
» Hold aGeneral Miner Certification
= Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced
Training acceptable)

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 80% on each element of the examination

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
» Emissions Testing (ET) 20
» Fuelsand Emissions (FM) 20
= Interna Combustion (IC) 20
»  Preventive Maintenance (PM) 20
» Federal Regulations (FR) 20
= VirginiaRules & Regulations (VR) 25
» First Aid (FA) 25

Gas Detection - practical demonstration

-Continued on back-
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RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:
m  Coa Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($5.50)

Title 30 CFR Parts 36, 75 (Included in study guide)
First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00)
Diesdl Engine Mechanic Study Guide ($9.00)
Rules & Regulations Governing the Use
of Diesel Powered Equipment in Underground Coal Mines (Included in study guide)
m Practical Ways to Reduce Exposure to Diesel

Exhaustion in Mining — A Toolbox (Included in study guide)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and

Energy’ s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and L ebanon Field
Office (276) 415-9650.

*4 hours annual continuing education required to update this certification.
* Contact Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) 276-523-2400 for classinformation.
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