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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4  VAC 25-20, which set 
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *Underground Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor 
 
This certification authorizes the holder to: 
§ Teach diesel engine mechanic initial and retraining courses as required by the Division  

of Mines 
 

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 
§ Hold a valid diesel engine mechanic certification and provide teaching experience 
§ Hold a General Miner Certification  
§ Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 

Training acceptable) 
 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  Diesel Engine Mechanic Examination score may be used 
in lieu of taking the examination if certifications are received at the same time.  All instructors must 
be monitored by a DM Representative prior to issuance of Instructor certification and may be asked to 
co-teach a class with a DM Instructor. 
 
PRIOR TO INSTRUCTING A CLASS (INITIAL OR RETRAINING): 
§ Instructors must hold a valid Diesel Engine Mechanic and Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor 

certification issued by the Board of Coal Mining Examiners 
§ Notify the DM Regulatory Boards Administrator in writing 10 working days prior to class 

• Instructor’s name 
• Date of Birth 
• Certification No. 
• Projected number of students (if possible) 
• Location, date, time of scheduled class 

 
PRIOR TO COMPLETING CLASS: 
§ Provide DM Regulatory Boards Administrator with class roster and schedule a tentative 

examination date 
§ Have students complete application, DM-BCME-1 and submit $40.00 fee (checks made 

payable to Treasurer of Virginia) 
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DIVISION OF MINES 
BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
Website:  http://dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 

DIESEL ENGINE MECHANIC INSTRUCTOR UNDERGROUND 

http://dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm


§ Student attendance sheet must be submitted by instructor at the end of class or on exam 
date if class attendance is used for experience.  This must contain student’s name, 
address, social security no., and each date attended. 

   
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 
§ BCME Requirements (No Charge) 
§ Diesel Engine Mechanic Study Guide ($9.00) 
§ DMME Course Instructor’s Manual where available (NA) 
§ Rules and Regulations Governing the Use of Diesel Powered Equipment in 

      Underground Coal Mines (Included in study guide) 
§ First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00) 

 
 
The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field 
Office (276) 415-9650. 
 
* Applicant shall maintain certification as required by 4 VAC 25-20-200 BCME Regulations – 
teach at least one approved diesel mechanic course every two years or at least one approved 
diesel engine mechanic continuing education course every year. 
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