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SURFACE BLASTER -
DIVISION OF MINERAL MINING TO DIVISION OF MINES

RECIPROCAL REQUIREMENTS
PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety L aws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examinersis established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Surface Blaster — DMME Division of Mineral Mining
Reciprocity — Renewal must be in accordance with BCME Requirements

This certification authorizes the holder to perform blasting operations and to record blasting
examination information concerning blasting operations at surface coa mines.

NOTE: Thiscertification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
»= Application (DM-BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
0 Note: Classesare limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination but this will not guarantee that an
opening will be available.
= Oneyear of blasting experience (Form DM-BCME-2) on a surface coal mine under the
direction of acertified surface blaster or appropriately related work experience approved by the
Chief of the Division of Mines. NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of
passing the examination. After 5yearsrecordsaredestroyed. Must reapply if future
certification isdesired.
» Hold aGeneral Miner Certification — surface coa
= Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced
Training acceptable)
= Notification from DMM verifying certification isin good standing, verifying 85% on all
sections of the DMM exam.
» Reciprocity can only be used onetimeto achieve certification

-Continued on back-


http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 85% on each element of the examination
ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
Must take the following sections of the DMME Division of Mines Surface Blasters exam.

» Rulesand Regulations (DM)(RR) 20
» Mined Land Reclamation 20
= First Aid 25

Surface Blasting Records Practical (BR)

RECOMMENDED REFERNECE/STUDY MATERIALS:
B Title 30 CFR (Included in study guide) B Surface Blasters Study Guide ($14.00)
B Coa Mine Laws of Virginia ($5.50) B DMLR Rules & Regulations (Included in study guide)
B BCME Requirements (No Charge) B First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00)

*5 year DMLR recertification required
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