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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set 
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  Dock Foreman (Coal) 
This certification authorizes the holder to: 
§ Perform duties required by State and Federal Laws and Codes as a certified foreman 

and/or examiner at docks and other load out facilities 
§ Record on-shift examinations 

    NOTE:  This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification. 
   

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

o Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due 
no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an 
opening will be available. 

§ One year coal work experience at dock or appropriately related coal mining work experience 
approved by the Chief of the Division of Mines.  NOTE: Experience must be submitted 
within 5 years of passing the examination.  After 5 years records are destroyed.  Must  
reapply if future certification is desired. 

§ Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 
Training acceptable) 

§ Hold a General Miner Certification  
 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 80% on each element of the examination 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
§ First Aid  (FA)        25 
§ Electrical and Equipment (EE)      20 
§ Surface Mining Laws (MP)      20 
§ Federal Regulations (FR)       20 
§ Gas Detection – practical demonstration  
§ Records – practical (not implemented) 

 

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  
§ Title 30 CFR Parts 48, 71, 77 (Included in study guide) 
§ Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($5.50) 
§ BCME Requirements (No Charge) 
§ Preparation Plant Foreman Study Guide ($8.00) 
§ First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00) 

 

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy’s Big Stone 
Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field Office  (276) 415-9650. 
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BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 
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