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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 

mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 

which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 

certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set 

the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 

certifications. 
 

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *First Class Mine Foreman (COAL) 

This certification authorizes the holder to: 

 Perform all duties required by State and Federal laws and codes as certified mine 

foreman/examiner 

 Record findings on pre-shift, on-shift and weekly examinations 

NOTE:   
 This certification may be used to perform pre/shift – on/shift examinations at shaft/slope 

locations. 
 

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 

 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

o Note:  Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due 

no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an 

opening will be available.  

 23 years of age 

 Five years coal mining experience, three of which shall be underground.  NOTE: Experience 

must be submitted within 5 years of passing the examination.  After 5 years records  

are destroyed.  Must reapply if future certification is desired. 
 Three years credit will be granted for Mining Engineering Degree from an approved four year 

college (copy of degree required) or two years credit for a degree in Mining Technology 

(certificate required) (NOTE: at least two of the remaining years’ experience must be 

underground mining experience). 

 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 

Training acceptable) 

 Hold a General Miner Certification as part of this certification (A card will be issued) 
 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on each element of the examination 
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ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
 Dust   (DU)        20 

 Electrical   (EL)        20 

 Explosives   (EX)        20  

 First Aid   (FA)        25 

 Fires and Explosions   (FX)      25 

 Haulage   (HA)        20 

 Mine Gases  (MG)       20 

 Mining Laws   (ML)       50 

 Ventilation   (VE)        25 

 Federal Regulations  (FR)       25 

                                                                         

 Records 

Pre-shift/On-shift (PO) 

Weekly Examination (WE) 

Practical Exercises   (PS) 

- Anemometer 

 Map - ventilated per instructions  (MA) 

 Gas Detection - practical demonstration  

     

 

 

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  
 Title 30 CFR Parts 48, 70, 75 (Included in study guide) 

 Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($5.50) 

 BCME Requirements (No Charge) 

 Practical Map (No charge) and Records (Included in study guide) 

 First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide ($30.00) 

 First Aid For Miners Study Guide ($9.00) 

 Responding to a Mine Emergency ($7.50) 

 

  

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field 

Office (276) 415-9650. 

 

*4 hours of biannual continuing education required to update this certification. 

*Contact Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) 276-523-2400 for class information. 

           

 

 
 


