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PHOTO ID REQUIRED 
 

PRIOR TO SCHEDULING EXAM MUST PROVIDE LETTER OF GOOD STANDING 

FROM RECIPROCATING STATE 
 
 

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification 

of coal mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through 

§45.1-161.41 in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of 

administering the certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 

4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal 

miner examinations and certifications. 
 

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:*First Class Mine Foreman (Coal) -KENTUCKY 

RECIPROCITY 

Renewal must be in accordance with the BCME continuing education requirement. 

 

THIS CERTIFICATION AUTHORIZES THE FIRST CLASS MINE FOREMAN - UG TO: 

 Perform all duties required by State and Federal laws and codes as certified mine 

foreman/examiner 

 Record findings on pre-shift, on-shift and weekly examinations 

NOTE:  

 This certification may be used to perform pre/shift – on/shift examinations at shaft/slope 

locations. 

 Hold General Miner and Gas Detection Certification which will be issued as part of this 

certification 
 

 

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 

 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

o Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are 

due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee 

that an opening will be available. 

 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 

Training acceptable) 

 Copy of current Kentucky foreman card  

 Letter of “good standing” from state of Kentucky 

 Reciprocity can only be used one time to achieve certification 
 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on all elements of the examination. 

Applicants must pass all elements of the First Class Mine Foreman or Surface Foreman reciprocity 

examination in order for Virginia to reciprocity Kentucky foreman certification. If the examination 

is failed, then the applicant may submit fee for retake of the examination 10 working days after the 

notification letter has been sent.   If the applicant does not pass on the second try, the entire foreman 

examination (either First Class Mine Foreman or Surface Foreman) must be taken under the 

regular examination process for foreman certification. 
                                                     

DIVISION OF MINES 

BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS 

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm 

FIRST CLASS MINE FOREMAN – (COAL) 

Kentucky Reciprocal Agreement 
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ELEMENTS OF EXAM                                                                   NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 

 First Class Mine Foreman 

 Mining Laws (ML) (UG)                                                                  50 

 

 Records (UG)       

      Pre-shift/On-shift (PO)   

Weekly Examination (WE) 

Practical Exercises   (PS) 

- Anemometer 

■ Gas Detection (GD) 

 

 

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 

 First Class Mine Foreman 

 Mining Laws of Virginia ($5.50) 

 First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide ($30.00) 

 

 

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field 

Office (276) 415-9650. 

 

*4 hours of biannual continuing education required to update this certification. 

 

           


