
 

-Continued on back- 

 

 
PHOTO ID REQUIRED 

 
Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal mine 
workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in which the Board 
of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program.  The Board 
has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures 
required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *Hoisting Engineer (Coal)  
This certification authorizes the holder to perform: 

§ Hoisting operations at shaft, slope and surface inclines 
§ Pre-operation and other required safety checks of hoisting equipment 
§ Record results of hoisting equipment examinations 
§ Duties of an automatic elevator operator after completing the on-site demonstration required  by         
      Section 2.20 of the BCME regulations 

 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 

§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 
• Note:  Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due no later 

than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an opening will be 
available.  

§ Two years of practical coal mining experience and one year of hoisting experience under the direction 
of a certified hoisting engineer or appropriately related work experience 
approved by the Chief of the Division of Mines.   A certified hoisting engineer shall verify the hoisting 
experience.  NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing 
the examination.  After 5 years records are destroyed.  Must reapply if future 
certification is desired. 

§ Hold a General Miner Certification  
§ Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training 

acceptable) 
§ A Letter of Authorization signed by a company official to allow a DM Representative to use the 

company hoist to conduct the required observation. 
 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 80% on each element of the examination. 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 

§ Hoisting   (HT)        50 
§ First Aid   (FA)        25 
§ Federal Regulations (FR)       20    
§ Observation - practical demonstration 
§ Gas Detection - practical demonstration 
§ Records – practical  (not implemented) 
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RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS: 
 g   Title 30 CFR Part 77 (Included in study guide)       g   Hoisting Engineer Study Guide ($6.00)  

g   Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($5.50)            g   First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00) 
 g   BCME Requirements (No Charge)                                         

             
 
The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy’s Big 
Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field Office (276) 415-9650. 
     

*Continuing education required. See BCME requirements. (Effective August 25, 2004)                                                                                
 


