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SURFACE FOREMAN (COAL)
PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety L aws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examinersis established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Surface Foreman (Coal)
This certification authorizes the holder to:
= Perform all surface mine foreman and/or examiner duties required by State and Federal
Laws and Code
» Record the findings of on-shift examinations
NOTE:
= Thiscertification may be used at coal Prep Plants, Dock Facilities, Surface Facilities (labs,
shops, warehouses) and Surface of an underground coal mine

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
= Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
¢ Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are
due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee
that an opening will be available.

= 23 years of age

» Five years of mining experience at |least two years experience must be at a surface mine
NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing the examination.
After 5yearsrecordsaredestroyed. Must reapply if future certification isdesired.

= Four year Mining Engineering Degree shall suffice for three years of the five years experience
(copy of degree required) (NOTE: The additional two years required must be at a surface
mine).

= Mine Technology Degree shall suffice for two years of the five years experience (copy of
degreerequired) (NOTE: At least two of the remaining years experience must be at a surface
mine).

= Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced
Training acceptable)

» Hold a General Miner Surface Certification and Gas Detection as part of this certification (A
card will be issued)

» Hold an Advanced First Aid Certification issued by the Division of Mines or a certification by
EMT or First Responder issued by the Virginia Department of Health.
NOTE: Degreeand certificate cannot be combined for total experience.
Can only use either a degree or certificate.
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EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 85% on each element of the examination

Virginia Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations(RL) 20
Gas Detection - practica demonstration

Records - Preshift/Onshift (PO)

Ground Control/Red Zone Practical

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
= Electrica & Equipment (EE) 20
= Explosives (EX) 20
= First Aid (FA) 25
= MineForemanship (MF) 20
= Genera Mine Practices (MP) 50
» Federa Regulations (FR) 20

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:

M Title 30 CFR Parts 48, 51, 77 (No charge)

B Surface Foreman Guide & Surface Rules & Regs. ($12.00)

Bl VA Ground Control Plan/Red Zones (Included in study guide)

M VA Cod Surface Mining Reclamation Regs. — DMLR (Included in study guide)
B BCME Requirements (No Charge)

B Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($5.50)

M First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Mineralsand
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and L ebanon Field
Office (276) 415-9650.

*4 hour s biannual continuing education required to update certification.
*Contact Mountain Empire Community College (MECC) at 276-523-2400 for classinformation.
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