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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set 
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  Top Person (Coal) 
This certification authorizes the holder to: 
§ Stay at the top of shaft collars, make preparations for miners entering the shaft and act as a 

communications link between employees in the shaft and hoist/crane operators 
NOTE: This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification. 
 
 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
§ Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 

o Note:  Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are 
due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee 
that an opening will be available.  

§ One year of practical coal mining experience with at least 30 days under the direction of a 
certified top person or appropriately related work experience approved by the Chief of the 
Division of Mines 

§ Hold a General Miner Certification.  NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years  
of passing the examination.  After 5 years records are destroyed.  Must reapply if future 
certification is desired. 

§ Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced 
Training acceptable) 

 
 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 80% on each element of the examination 
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ELEMENTS OF EXAM      NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
§ First Aid   (FA)         25 
§ Top Person    (TP)        40 

§ Combustible Materials  
§ Communication 
§ Duties 
§ Equipment 
§ General Requirements 

§ Federal Regulations (FR)        20 
§ Hoisting  (HT)         20 
§ Gas Detection - practical demonstration 

 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  
g   Title 30 CFR Parts 50, 71, 75, 77 (Included in study guide)   
g   Top Person Study Guide ($5.00) 
g   Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia ($5.50)   
g   First Aid for Miners Study Guide ($9.00) 
g   BCME Requirements (No Charge)      
 
 
                                                                                      
The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Lebanon Field 
Office (276) 415-9650. 
          


