Who are we?

The Department of Mines, Minerals and
Energy, Division of Mineral Mining
(DMM) is the state regulatory agency that
administers health, safety, and mined land
reclamation programs for all non-coal
mineral mining operations in Virginia.

Our goal is to provide for the safe and
environmentally sound production of
Virginia’s non-fuel minerals. = DMM
administers both health and safety and
mine reclamation regulatory programs for
all non-coal mineral mining operations,
including quarries, sand and gravel pits,
and other surface and underground
mining operations.

Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia states
that it is unlawful for any operator to
engage in any mining operation in
Virginia without having first obtained a
permit to engage in such operation.
Additionally, it requires that no person
shall engage in the operation of any
mineral mine within the Commonwealth
without first obtaining a license from the
Division.

Who needs a permit/license?

A mine permit and safety license issued
by the Division of Mineral Mining is
required prior to any commercial
extraction and sale of minerals.

Any operator engaging in mining and
disturbing less than one acre of land and
removing less than 500 tons of minerals at

any particular site is exempt from all
mining permit fees and renewal fees and
bond requirements, but is still required to
obtain a permit/license.

A general permit governs the mining of
sand or sand and gravel that affect a total
disturbed area of less than 10 acres in size.
This does not apply to dredging operations
or those that otherwise intend to mine
below the groundwater table.

In an effort to simplify the permitting and
licensing requirements the Division of
Mineral Mining has combined the permit
and license application process into a
single Permit Application Package, which
contains all the necessary forms to obtain a
permit.

A prospective operator may contact the
DMM office or visit our website to
obtain the necessary forms at:
www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmm/
printableforms.shtml

What do I need to do to apply?

1. Visit the DMM website at:
www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmm

2.

The new permit application package is
downloadable from our “Forms” page
under Quick Links. Review this

package, including the New Permit
Application Checklist, for helpful
information.

Contact your inspector. You may
deter- mine who your inspector from
the “Contact My Inspector” link under
Quick Links on our website or by
calling the DMM office.

What are the costs?

Permit fees, license fees, and appropriate
reclamation bonds are required prior to the
issuance of the permit/license. The fees for a
new permit are as follows:

Permit Fee: $50/permitted acre.

License Fee: $400 for paper submittal of
the application package or $330 for the
eforms submittal of the permit/license
application.

Bond Fee: $1000/disturbed acre. Acceptable
in cash deposit, surety bond, or Certificate of
Deposit made payable to the Treasurer

of Virginia.

Fees are site specific. Upon approval of your
new permit application, you will be advised
to contact the DMM. The DMM office will
calculate the fees and provide bond
requirements and information.


http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmm

How do I apply?

It's simple! You can register and file
electronically at the DMM e-Forms
Center. Sign up for your user ID and
password at:
https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/DMM
EForms

e  Mineral Mine Reclamation
Laws and Regulations

Your DMM inspector is an excellent
reference.

What must I do annually?
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past 12 months.
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¢ Annual Tonnage Report
electronically.

Between January st and February 15th
Where can I find Reference of each year, licensed operators must file
Materials? an Annual Tonnage Report (DMM-146)
for the previous calendar year. The

We have the Mineral Mine Operators licensed operator should maintain

Manual, which is an on-line guidance accurate  records  pertaining  to

document to help you prepare for the production tonnage, workers hours, and

application. The manual includes wages throughout the year to ensure Department of Mines, Minerals & Energy
information on Policy and Procedure, timely completion of the Annual Division of Mineral Mining
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Tonnage Report. DMM will mail a letter
with instructions at the end of the report
year to assist in this process.

reclamation, and operational best practices.

Also available on-line:
o Mineral Mine Safety Laws of
Virginia
e Safety and Health Regulations for
MineralMining


https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/DMMEForms
https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/DMMEForms
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