Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
  • (276) 523-8100
  • dmmeinfo@dmme.virginia.gov

DIVISION OF MINES

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND FEES


New Mine

The following requirements are to be met to obtain a "New Mine" license or to "Renew" an existing license:

The applicant must submit the following:

Enforcement activities are mandated by the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia and help to ensure that mining operations are conducted in compliance with the minimum standards established by law.

  • $350.00 application fee (Cash, Check/Money Order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia)
  • A completed DM-CM-1 Form (Mine License Application)

The following requirements are to be met to obtain a "Change of Ownership" license:

    The applicant must submit the following:

  • $350.00 application fee (Cash, Check/Money Order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia)
  • A completed DM-CM-1 Form (Mine License Application)
  • A DM-CM-2 Form (Tonnage) from the previous operator
  • A letter of relinquishment from previous operator
  • A final map from the previous operator

No application for a license or a renewal shall be issued unless all requirements are met. In order to ensure your existing mine license does not expire, or when a new mine license or change of ownership license is needed, you should submit your application package at least 10 days prior to the expiration date or desired license date.  This will allow sufficient time for review, approval, and mailing of your new license.

Applications for a mine license should be submitted through the Division of Mines eForms center. If a license is needed immediately, you should contact the Big Stone Gap office for assistance.  All mine licenses are issued out of the Big Stone Gap office.  Applications hand delivered or mailed to the Lebanon office will be forwarded to Big Stone Gap for issuance.  

For information regarding the Division of Mines eForms center, or other licensing requirements please contact the Big Stone Gap office at (276) 523-8225 or the Lebanon office at (276) 415-9650 or e-mail your request to Terri Gibson.